Update on the Invention Experiment

I’ve been writing over at InventorSpot for the last month, a financially viable way to fuel my invention experiment. They’ve been patient enough to bear with me as I try to find my voice. As a result, I’ve been able to keep learning about at least one invention each day, and in the process, learn more about what types of inventions interest me the most.

W/me mood tracking bracelet

It’s true that you learn by doing, so although it should have been obvious to me, I’ve been able to narrow down the genre of inventions that naturally spark my interest. Don’t get me wrong, I like thinking about plastic bottles, and I appreciate all types of inventions, but what really fascinates me is the internet of things when you apply it to health, self and happiness.

Mimo Baby Monitor

I’m so excited about tracking. (Seamless) tracking and data capturing of the seemingly banal. There are so many gadgets now that interact and sync data about our temperature, sleep patternsheart ratepatterns and triggers. They give us insight into our bodies, and the bodies of our loved ones, empowering us to make more informed decisions as individuals, invent better solutions as companies and even improve cities so we can live healthier and happier.

I’m also super excited about female reproductive health, and sick of just accepting the current solutions on offer.

origami-female-condom

I’ve still been thinking of a new invention per week, or more like a new complaint each week! But many ideas are stuck in my drafts – writing for InventorSpot has sucked away some of the creative writing time from my days.

I will find the time to edit and post them soon. Thanks for keeping in the invention experiment loop!

Leave a Reply

